Meeting Minutes: Spring 2010

October 11, 2010

Permian Historical Society
Spring Meeting
8 May 2010

The Spring meeting of the Permian Historical Society was held at the Petroleum Museum in Midland.  Forty-seven meal tickets were taken up.

Registration began at 9:00 a.m. Members and guests enjoyed eating breakfast goodies, visiting, and perusing the books on display until the meeting began at 10:00.

First Vice President Betty Cash welcomed the attendees and introduced the day’s speakers:  Barbara Barton, who told the story of Ben Ficklin; Mary Ann Kay and Jimmy Cahill, who spoke about the pioneer women and the outlaws of Sutton County; Will Hoover, who related the history of the Hoover Ranch started by his great-great-grandparents Henry “Buck” and Laura McNutt Hoover;  Chris Elliott, who gave the history of and displayed five of the flags that have flown over Ft. Lancaster; and Delmon Hodges, who presented his amusing recollections of his years as a West Texas land man.

Members voted for their favorite presentation and broke for lunch, which the Bakers of Stanton once again catered with a delicious meal.

At the afternoon business session, Ross McSwain moved that the October 2009 minutes be approved as printed.  Sherry Phillips seconded the motion, which passed.

Hub Parker was awarded the October 2009 Best Presentation Award for his reminiscences of ranch life when he was a young man and recitation of some of his cowboy poems.

Ross McSwain moved that the proposed slate of officers for 2010-2012 be accepted by proclamation.  Betty Damron seconded the motion, which passed.  The officers are:  President – Peggy Kelton; 1st Vice President – Betty Cash; 2nd Vice President – Betty Hargus; Treasurer – Sherry Phillips; Secretary – Sue Ann Damron; and Financial Chair – J. Tillapaugh.

It was announced that the 2010 Fall Meeting will be held on October 9, 2010 at the Community Center in downtown Grandfalls, which is south of Monahans.

Vice President Cash reminded everyone that their registration packets include membership cards that can be completed and returned with their 2010 dues to Treasurer Sherry Phillips.

After the tickets were drawn for the door prizes, which included the beautiful flower arrangements on the tables, attendees were thanked for coming and the meeting was adjourned.

Peggy Kelton, President            Sun Ann Damron, Secretary

Previous post:

Next post: