Meeting Minutes: Fall 2014

January 7, 2015

Fall Meeting
11 October 2014

The Fall Meeting of the Permian Historical Society was held in the parish hall of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Stanton. There were 36 members and guests in attendance.

Registration began at 9:00 a.m. The Board Meeting began at 9:15 a.m.

Presentations began at 10:00 a.m. with a welcome from President Peggy Kelton and host Bud Lindsey. Evelyn Stroder then introduced each speaker beginning with Beverly Weatherby Farmer who spoke on Growing up under the Jail in Crane, Texas. Next, Bill Kelton told the story of John T. McElroy, Rancher. As the third scheduled speaker had not arrived, Tumbleweed Smith entertained with humorous anecdotes from various interviews that he had done through the years. He managed to coax cowboy-poet member Tom Koger to recite a couple of his compositions to the delight of the audience. Bud Lindsey then gave an informative power point presentation on The Convent-Monastery in Stanton.

A delicious Mexican lunch prepared by the ladies of St. Joseph’s church was served with Elodia Bravo’s famous pound cake for dessert.

As John Vaughan had arrived, he presented his program The Rankin Beach.

Attendees then cast their ballots for today’s Best Presentation award. A certificate for Best Presentation at the October 2013 meeting was presented to Janie Harrison for her program Dr. J. W. Barnett, Pioneer Big Spring Physician. Jim Collett’s article Downhill from Upland: How the Road to Nowhere Created Several West Texas “Somewheres” was awarded the Best Article award for 2013 and Janie Harrison was awarded the 2014 Best Article award.

The first round of door prize tickets was drawn.

The membership business meeting began at 12:30 p.m. Lane Bond moved that the slate of officers presented by the Board be accepted by acclamation. The motion was seconded and passed. Only one office was filled by a new person – the two VP offices were combined and our new VP is Betty Damron.
Evelyn Stroder moved that the Board’s recommended slate for the Board of Directors be accepted. The motion was seconded and passed. The members elected were: Genny Townsend – Crane County, Beth Hoover – Crockett County, Ruben Vasquez – Ector County, Roger Goertz – Howard County, James Collett – Midland County, Earnest Woodward – Pecos County, Carolyn Hodge – Reagan County, Barbara Barton – Tom Green County, and Donna Bell – Upton County.
Investments Chair J. Tillapaugh reported that PHS is in great financial shape.

The last round of door prize tickets was drawn.

President Peggy Kelton announced that the Spring Meeting would be held at the Petroleum Museum on the third Saturday in April 2015.

Attendees were thanked for coming and the meeting was adjourned.


____________________________                                         ___________________________
Peggy Kelton, President                                                          Sue Ann Damron, Secretary

Previous post:

Next post: